Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Frustration.

I get so frustrated with myself sometimes.  I was so excited last week when I lost 2 more pounds, for a total of 11 overall.  So, why have I gone to McDonald's twice this week, and had way more food than I should have?  I feel like I don't have any self control, and it drives me crazy.  Maybe it's just not my time to lose weight.  I go in waves.  I get so pumped about eating healthy and exercising.. then the next week I'm down and back to right where I was.



Blah.  That is all.

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Oh the weather outside is frightful...

.. now I just wish I had a delightful fire in our place!  The forecast here is pretty nasty.. 2-4" of snow and then ice on top of that.  It just started snowing, so we will see what pans out.

This week was extremely long.  I got some tough criticism at work (I feel like it was not "constructive" at all), and I felt like doing my best wasn't enough, and everyone was criticizing everything that I did.  But I guess you will have situations like that at any job you have.  I really do love what I do, I can't get enough of the kids, I just get the feeling it's time for me to move on from daycare.  I am hoping to job shadow some speech therapists in the upcoming weeks, so I can know if it's something that I really want to do, and hopefully can start taking classes this summer.  So we will see what the next few months bring!

I am down 11 pounds!  Tomorrow marks 3 months of Weight Watchers, and although I haven't lost quite as much as I would have liked, I am going to continue and keep pushing myself.  I think our new apartment has a gym in the complex, so I am looking forward to that.  I'm a weenie when it comes to the cold, so the more I can exercise inside, the better!  We are SO looking forward to moving.. I'm just a little excited ;)  Hopefully we will go sign our lease soon, and we will be good to go! :)

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Nothing Like Saturday Morning...

... and a big cup of coffee!  What a week it's been!  It really seemed like it was never going to end.  Yesterday was a super long day... and to top it all off, I pulled the sprayer prank on myself at work... lol.  One of our sanitizing bottles fell down on the sink while I was changing a diaper.. and without even realizing it, it was holding down the handle of the hand-held sprayer on the sink.  Well, when I went to wash my hands, I got quite the surprise when I was soaked with ice cold water.  And of course, it's an automatic sink and since I was standing there, it kept spraying.  Oy.  I was able to soak up most of the water with a towel, but I was still pretty wet for the rest of the day.
I don't know if other states have this (or if any of you work in child care), but we're getting ready for re-licensing and a YoungStar visit.  Basically, it's a star system that rates daycares.  We're a 4 star, and only one other daycare in the city of La Crosse is a 5 star.  So, everyone is in crazy mode trying to get everything ready.. Portfolios, lesson plans, room arrangements.. it's nuts.  Plus, not having much time to work on it puts even more on everyone.  We get in trouble if we bring stuff home to work on, which duh, we're going to do anyway, but as I'm sure you all know, it's illegal to work off the clock.  I love it though, some of my coworkers think we should push to be salaried employees so we won't have to worry about the whole 40 hours a week thing.  I'll believe that when I see that, since we're not really considered teachers in the eyes of anyone.. just glorified babysitters, which is upsetting sometimes.

Oh, and more good news!  Cory and I are finally moving!  After about 7 bats in the house this summer, we started an apartment hunt.  It didn't go so well, since you really can't move without a security deposit.  However, I found that one of the apartments we really liked was having a move-in special, so we only had to pay $400 down, and we get $500 off first month's rent!  I was so excited.  I've been wanting to move out since the day I moved in, and we've been here almost a year and a half.   We're moving March 1st, so I'm hoping to have some pictures someday soon!

Happy Weekend!

Friday, January 11, 2013

Busy Busy!

I wanted to share some of the crafty things I've been doing lately!  I've been doing a lot of crocheting, and this year I am hoping to open an etsy shop with my mom.  I have a few hats and things stocked up, but have been doing a lot of custom orders lately (hence the 11 pairs of slippers!).

For Christmas, I wanted to make something for my little cousins.  I just finished them last week, and now I am slacking on shipping them.  Tomorrow I will get them shipped!  I have them in the envelopes and all ready to go, just have to get my butt to the post office!

For my cousin Skyler, she has a black and pink coat.

For my cousin Gianna, perfect Wisconsin and Redbird colors!
And for Gianna's big sister, Emma!  :)

And for Kase, a Badger hat for a little man! 


And Kyla.. she just turned two!
The last two hats are for my cousin Amy's kids.  They are too stinking cute :)  I hope they love them!

Saturday, January 5, 2013

2013!

Bring it on 2013!  This will be my year!  I am going to continue with WW, since I've had success with it, and WILL start exercising.  I haven't quite decided yet if I want to join a gym, but right now I am thinking about just throwing it all in and getting a personal trainer.  If I'm going to make a difference, I want to make a big one, and throw all my chips in.  Right now money is kind of the big deciding factor, so I'm still trying to decide if I can still fit that into my budget.

I'm in desperate need of jeans... and I feel like I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place.  I am almost in a size 24, and it's driving me bonkers!  SO many of the pairs that I have tried on ALMOST fit... but I wouldn't be able to wear them if I bought them.  Working retail, I see so many women buy clothes that don't fit them, with the hopes that they will fit in them someday soon.  I just can't bring myself to do that, I need ones that fit me now.  It's so embarrassing to sit down and have your jeans rip!  I have so many pairs too that used to fit.. and I'm saving hoping that I will fit into them in the next few months.

I returned quite a few pairs of jeans to JCP last night, $115 worth.  Yes, I'm that person, who orders a ton online and returns in the store.  And working retail, you'd think I know better!  But when so many stores are shrinking or completely cutting out their plus size sections, it's hard!  Oh well, all the more reason for a new me :)